Sunday, May 07, 2006
yup, still alive
yup, i'm still here, but i'm kind of consciously not putting anything into the blog. i still have a lot to say, but i'm finding the old fashion way is better ... good 'ol face to face with people you love/trust.
Tuesday, April 18, 2006
mick mars is frightening
i heard home sweet home (thank you hair nation) on the way to work this morning. i remember when i was however old i was when that came out, it was #1 on dial mtv for like, 2 months. l and i would sit and wait for it to come on like every day. now i'm just like "this song is ok .... "
anyway, i miss v66
anyway, i miss v66
Monday, April 10, 2006
no, it's not a birthmark
i found this via the web archive from my old college webpage (!). it was pretty amazing ... i spent like 2 hours going through old web pages from my rpi days. it was nuts. i don't know what criteria it used to archive, because some of the pages i really wanted to see weren't there (nemesis' page, for one - "i wish you were dead")anyway, seeing this image of my tattoo got me thinking .. do i regret having this now that i'm 29 and in the working world? the answer is a definitive no .... i still think the meaning of it is as badass now as it was when i found out. tkphi, bitches!
horse's ass
i drove by the mfa on the way to work this morning ... there were a bunch of little kids out front on a field trip. that brough back some memories. i remember running around seeing all the paul revere silver and all the colonial art. pretty cool stuff. anyway, my favorite picture is the one of washington standing in front of the horse, but it's the rear end. i think the real name is like "washington at dorchester highlands" or something, but everybody just called it the "horse's ass" painting ....
Thursday, April 06, 2006
april 6, 1999
well, here it is, 7 years to the day since my dad died. some days it doesn't seem like that long at all and some days it seems like it was an eternity. this year it seems to bother more than any of the others i think though, not quite sure why. it's kind of sad that i can't even really remember what his voice sounded like any more. i do my impressions with my goofy dad voice, but that wasn't how he sounded in real life. it's kinda weird how when the whole thing was happening i just kind of looked at it as something that was a part of life, and that i had so many other things happening that it kind of distracted me (finals, graduation, paris, first job). it was only a few years later that i started to get sad about it. maybe it's now that i have so many things going on (both good and bad) that i'd like to talk to him about that i really feel the loss. i also think about how much has changed since then .... i'm going to be 29 next week ...
i do think life works in funny ways though ... i don't believe in a higher power, but sometimes timing is strange. i found out last night that i'm going to have a nephew. ok, so it's a "pseudo" nephew, but whatever ... i'll consider him part of my family. i saw some ultrasound pictures, and it was really quite amazing ... hard to describe. when you see a black and white fuzzy photo of someone who isn't even born yet and you already know you love him ... anyway, i'm getting sappy now .... time to do some work
i do think life works in funny ways though ... i don't believe in a higher power, but sometimes timing is strange. i found out last night that i'm going to have a nephew. ok, so it's a "pseudo" nephew, but whatever ... i'll consider him part of my family. i saw some ultrasound pictures, and it was really quite amazing ... hard to describe. when you see a black and white fuzzy photo of someone who isn't even born yet and you already know you love him ... anyway, i'm getting sappy now .... time to do some work
Tuesday, April 04, 2006
wtf?
from the boston dirt dogs site:
ok, rant over ... but i'm sure it will bubble up again. maybe when i start going to games next week i'll get excited ... but who knows. i think i've watched like a total of 6 innings this year, and about 1 2/3 of the reg season so far .... my prediction for next week is the patented diddy "7th inning and go to the beerworks" bailout
Wake Gets Whacked Around in Arlington
Rangers Jump All Over Sox Early, Win 10-4
Francona Decision to Slot Tim No. 2 Backfires
Bard Baffled by Knuckleballer
Offense Taking Night Off
DiNardo Not DiAnswer
Riske Business in the Red
Must-Win for Beckett on Wednesday
must win? it's the friggin 3rd game of the season!!!
ok, rant over ... but i'm sure it will bubble up again. maybe when i start going to games next week i'll get excited ... but who knows. i think i've watched like a total of 6 innings this year, and about 1 2/3 of the reg season so far .... my prediction for next week is the patented diddy "7th inning and go to the beerworks" bailout
Friday, March 24, 2006
Monday, March 20, 2006
take that crap ass music to cincinnati
little emotish....
watching the sopranos last night kind messed me up a little bit. at the end of the show last week, tony got shot in the gut. this week went back and forth between a coma dream he was having and his family by him at the hospital. he was all f'ed up and hooked up to a ventilator. unfortunately it brought back some bad memories for me. though he wasn't shot, i essentially went through the same thing with my father, and it sucked balls. i was about a month away from graduating college, and living in troy. i was able to come home on weekends but it was still not ideal. anyway, it stirred up a lot of memories. really good show though, i think edie falco just won an emmy for that one.
it's two weeks away from opening day and i really still don't care. usually i'm pretty jazzed by now. not sure what's going on.
it's two weeks away from opening day and i really still don't care. usually i'm pretty jazzed by now. not sure what's going on.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

