Thursday, February 02, 2006

how not to get a job ...

i was at a career fair at rpi yesterday. was i this stupid when i was looking for a job? people would walk by the booth, i would look at them, say "hi, how are you?" and they would either keep looking at the ground, or say hi and keep walking. maybe 1 out of 5 stopped to talk. ??????? one guy was walking around in a lab coat and had dyed his hair green. a girl i interviewed last fall but didn't select for on site visits came up and asked "why did i fail?"

going to these career fairs is getting tedious. i'm always exhausted when i leave, have a sore throat, and spend all day trying to explain what this does (it's difficult):i must say when it got the the "it's 3:45 and it's time to barter schwag" phase, i made out pretty well this time. i got the coolest schwag i've gotten yet, some of those light up party ice cubes:


we're giving out silly putty which i thought was stupid but everybody seemed to love it.

i always can't believe that i lived in that hellhole for 4 years. the guys who went with me is also an rpi alum, and we were both like "wow this place blows."

troy pub was money as usual though.

No comments: