Wednesday, December 28, 2005

nas-ty


ok, i don't think i'm eating catfish anymore ... it was never my favorite, but i liked it. i just saw how they catch them on dirty jobs ... then came the cleaning. i'm sure other fish are similar ... but yikes, that was nasty

brw, i have no idea who this guy is ... but he looks happy, doesn't he?

i'm hurt ... i'm pissed ... gotta find a new job

i can't believe i didn't find this picture for my under pressure post a few weeks ago! (i fixed it)

speaking of grosse pointe, i'm going to a friend's wedding in may, and i'm thinking of going with the all black, "early in the movie before the reunion" suit.

Peanut Butter Jelly 2006

peanut butter jelly time updated for 2006! i love the special apperance by jax

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

enigma

no, i don't mean the music that's playing in some freshman's dorm somewhere, i mean me. i think people who don't know me too well (or some that think they do) can't figure me out sometimes, and hell, i can't figure myself out half the time. sometimes i'm totally content, and sometimes i feel like i'm missing the boat, or am missing or have missed opportunity. there's a lot that goes on in my head that stays there, and that's probably not a good thing ... or maybe it is. hmm....

Monday, December 26, 2005

appearing tonight at valentis ...

ok, i can't tell if this guy is money, or a total loser. quite a conundrum. the wrist bands are key though.

the crowd reaction reminds me of the barbershop in the "electric guitar, drums, or electric piano" chappelle skit

swamp thing

some guy pulled this TWO MOUTHED TROUT out of a river in idaho i think. he was planning on eating it. i love rainbow trout, but ummm, maybe I would have thrown this one back

Sunday, December 25, 2005

inside the damon negotiations....


"larry ... ummm ... larry ... ummm i got ummm ants on my brother's ummm walls larry. show me the ummm money larry! i better get ummm brian cashman on the phone!"

tps reports


does anyone else have a job that nobody understands when they ask you, "what do you do?" when i say i'm a test engineer i get blank stares. then i usually have to go through the "do you have a cellphone? you want it to work when you get it right?" then they sort of get it. i don't really care that much, but it's kinda weird when people really have no idea what you do ...

Saturday, December 24, 2005

my take on the johnny damon press conference


red sox, red sox, red sox, red sox, umm, umm, umm, umm, umm, umm, red sox, red sox, but i'm really happy to be a yankee

i, i, i, i, i, i'm the best leadoff hitter, i, i, i, i, i, i, i, i, oh, jeter's ok too

i meant a lot to the boston fans, they're going to be crushed

hey johnny jesus, you should also know that no player is above the team either. like clemens and pedro didn't mean a lot to us?

let's get coco crisp baby! it would be worth it just to hear that four times a night!


for you new readers, don't forget my "hey black hamma!" post from april

Friday, December 23, 2005

yikes


this is bad ... nice pink bathrobe. hey michelle, do you follow him into the bathroom too? is he doing a guest spot on the oc?

funyuns


why hasn't anyone opened a gas n' sip yet? i would get gas there all the time just to say i went to the gas n' sip.

"got ditched in the malibu doesn't know what to do...."

i forgot montreal ..

i've been to montrael too ... i forgot to put that in my other post

tar-jay



what's up with the target in salem nh? i've shat there like 6 times now, the latest being today. one time i ran from the car so fast that i threw the car door to close it and it didn't quite close, but i kept going ... ponderous

Thursday, December 22, 2005

who am i?

i'm going to see les miserables again in feb, and i was listening to "who am i" and it got me thinking, who the hell am i? lately i feel like nothing more than employee 562935 (not quite 24601, but that is my employee number). anyway i feel like i'm just going though the paces lately ... being shipped all over north america, getting thrown into things, etc. i still can't friggin breathe and i'm so limited in what i can eat that i eat nuts most of the time, but that's making me gain weight. last week in dallas i ate tuna and black beans for every meal sun-thur. wtf is that?
i feel like my life's going nowhere ... sleep, work, eat, sleep, work, eat, sleep, fly to toronto, eat, work, work, work, work, fly back from toronto, work, sleep.

i was mildly excited to start a project in january, a 6 month project. it would have been difficult, and probably put in tucson for a month, but it would have been worthwhile and something specific to do. it got cancelled ... the customer's going to do it themselves.

maybe 06 will be better than 04-05. i'm keeping my fingers crossed ...

what part of the chicken do rings come from ...

harold and kumar go to white castle is classic ....

if you don't know what the hell the subject is about they actually sell "chicken rings" at white castle. i finally saw a sonic last week in dallas too. they're drive ins, like 50's drive ins ... the people come out to your car.

"i'm not sweating anymore..."

suck on my chocolate salty balls

me as a south park character ... thanks el!

under pressure


i met my 6 month old cousin last week .. and i had a total grosse pointe blank moment .. the part where he's at the reunion and holding the baby and looking at it. i was looking at the baby and holding her the same way ... she was looking at me not knowing what to expect .. and grabbing at my beard. it was pretty nuts, seeing her face and wondering what she was thinking. her major concern of the day was "who the hell is this guy and what's growing on his face." pretty amazing how people go from that to writing blogs about how they can't breathe and they have a leaky gut and might have seen someone get shot on washington st. the old cycle of life.

my cousin brigitte who's the baby's mom said to me "do you like kids?" to which i replied "only when they're related to me."

Thursday, December 15, 2005

places i've been

since i'm in dallas this week, it got me to thinking about the major places in the world i've been (meaning not like, dover, ma, but cities/countries). this is what i can think of for now....

states/cities:
boston (duh)
nh
vt
me
ct
ri
ny
fl (tampa, orlando)
nj
dallas
chicago
detroit (layover)
vegas ... baby
san diego
paris
brussels
osaka (layover)
taiwan (ugh)
london

and coming soon:
tucson

i'm sure i'm forgetting some ...

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

survery says! where's Dawson?!

barnesanova pointed me to this ...

TELL ME ABOUT YOURSELF - The Survey
Name:nick
Birthday:4/11
Birthplace:hospital
Current Location:dallas in a hotel ... live in boston
Eye Color:hazel i guess
Hair Color:brown
Height:74"
Right Handed or Left Handed:rt
Your Heritage:life's a breeze
The Shoes You Wore Today:columbia hiking shoes
Your Weakness:lately, dried figs ... not good, and scarlett johansson
Your Fears:bush
Your Perfect Pizza:pleasant cafe
Goal You Would Like To Achieve This Year:finish my gd condo
Your Most Overused Phrase On an instant messenger:yah
Thoughts First Waking Up:i really have to piss
Your Best Physical Feature:eyes i guess
Your Bedtime:usually 11, this week, 2
Your Most Missed Memory:dad
Pepsi or Coke:coffee
MacDonalds or Burger King:i read fast food nation
Single or Group Dates:medjool
Lipton Ice Tea or Nestea:coffee
Chocolate or Vanilla:vanilla ice ice baby
Cappuccino or Coffee:umm coffee
Do you Smoke:no
Do you Swear:hourly
Do you Sing:badly
Do you Shower Daily:yup
Have you Been in Love:si
Do you want to go to College:not again
Do you want to get Married:i think so
Do you belive in yourself:no
Do you get Motion Sickness:no
Do you think you are Attractive:no
Are you a Health Freak:sort of ... with food, yes, but i should hit the treadmill
Do you get along with your Parents:the one that's left
Do you like Thunderstorms:yup
Do you play an Instrument:yeah
In the past month have you Drank Alcohol:no, can't with a wheat/yeast allergy
In the past month have you Smoked:no
In the past month have you been on Drugs:no
In the past month have you gone on a Date:nope
In the past month have you gone to a Mall:yup
In the past month have you eaten a box of Oreos:never..never..
In the past month have you eaten Sushi:no
In the past month have you been on Stage:no
In the past month have you been Dumped:no
In the past month have you gone Skinny Dipping:umm shrinkage
In the past month have you Stolen Anything:nope
Ever been Drunk:oh yeah
Ever been called a Tease:um no
Ever been Beaten up:nope
Ever Shoplifted:probably
How do you want to Die:getting laid
What do you want to be when you Grow Up:a test engineer, biatch! maybe a chef or pilot
What country would you most like to Visit:france ... for places i haven't been japan
In a Boy/Girl..
Favourite Eye Color:brown
Favourite Hair Color:dark
Short or Long Hair:depends on the person, usually long
Height:whatever
Weight:under a ton
Best Clothing Style:comfortable
Number of Drugs I have taken:it's from the earth, back off!
Number of CDs I own:~80 probably
Number of Piercings:none thank you
Number of Tattoos:3
Number of things in my Past I Regret:a few that i think about often ... probably more

CREATE YOUR OWN! - or - GET PAID TO TAKE SURVEYS!

Thursday, December 08, 2005

i love mark goodman

i got 86.9

are you still watching the pi's?

well, i'm a geek according to this

i'm 15.77%

+ Geekish Tendencies................................≥09%
++ Geek.............................................≥15%
+++ Total Geek......................................≥25%
++++ Major Geek.....................................≥35%
+++++ Super Geek....................................≥45%
++++++ Extreme Geek.................................≥55%
+++++++ Geek God....................................≥65%
+++++++! Dysfunctional Geek.........................≥75%

nice

yet another gem from the Boston Dirt Dogs:

they're shitty....

what's going on with the red sox? they're turning over the entire team it seems. at least this loser won't be back

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

bamboo anyone?

i love this commercial. time to bring it back!!!!

Monday, December 05, 2005

i give 'em a 7.5....

i was buying some tickets online and this was my word verification image:

nice

Saturday, December 03, 2005

success!!!

true, ass milk wasn't available, but nothing a little cut and paste can't fix!

new plates

thanks mr poon for pointing out this site where you can check for personalized plates in NY. they actually print an image if it's available:


for all you chappelle fans, i tried for "ass milk" but it wouldn't let me do it. "your license plates are soooooooooo ready!!!"

Thursday, December 01, 2005

commanche indian

results of my personality test from sugarmrpoon.com

You are... That Guy!!!
Its that guy again!
Familiar yet nameless, you navigate film and TV roles with ease.
You are famous to the extent that you are instantly recognizable,
yet completely nameless. In short, you are "That Guy."
You come from a long line of distinguished (but not too distinguished) actors and actresses.
Now and then your treasured anonymity works against you -- you occasionally
alienate friends when you cause them to forget your name.
Your strong exterior hides the fragile ego of one who has mastered
his or her craft but who is forced to live without the instant street cred of a Julia Roberts
or a Howie Mandel. But press on, friend, for you are one of the greats.
NB: That is Philip Baker Hall, not you. You are not that guy, you are "That Guy."

Take the Personality Quiz, brought to you by Mr. Poon.

Friday, November 18, 2005

10 years!


i got an evite to my 10 year reunion. the fact that it was an evite was amusing. do i really want to go hear people i wasn't cool enough to hang out with in high school because i was a "band fag" tell me about their jobs at the gas station? or listen to their crappy poetry? i don't think so. maybe i'll go to the 20th

just let your soul glo....

i got my haircut yesterday ... ok i got them all cut, but it got me thinkin' about how some people probably communicate better with their haircutter (barber, "stylist", coiffeur, folicle technician, whatever you like) than they do with members of their family. it's like they know something about everything, an oracle with a personal trimmer. the oracle in matrix should have had one of those spinning poles out front. personally, i've talked with everything from what kind of shitter i was installing in my condo to buying lamb at costco to the layout of my sister's basement (she goes to the same guy).

Thursday, November 17, 2005

nuts

i'm sitting here with my laptop on, well, my lap. i've been doing this more lately. i'm thinking this can't be good for my junk

$$


does the fact that i still say "money" make me old? do kids in high school or college use the term at all? is swingers required viewing for whatever generation they are?

i'm in the wrong business


on my walk back to the car from the aforementioned downtown office/shooting gallery, i go past a place called the Ho Kong Bean Sprout Company. how do you make money doing that?

Wednesday, November 16, 2005

y = mx + b

i've been listening to a lot of fall out boy lately ... is that bad for someone who's 28? i feel like i should be doing algebra homework rather than figuring out how to test a satellite radio chip

oh, for those in the know ... the fall out boy album is called "from under the cork tree," a reference to the children's story ferdinand. anyone who knows the story might realize that this could also fall under my frog and toad theory

paging mr rooter ...

well my gut's officially leaky. good stuff. essentially the cells in my intestines are too far apart so "stuff" gets through into my bloodsteam, hence the positive test for 22 kinds of food antibodies in my bloodstream, so rather than "goodbye wheat" it's goodbye all 22, at least for the time being ... so i've essentially become a squirrel ... i eat a lot of nuts

was fifty cent in boston friday?

is it possible for someone to get shot and for it to not be on the news or in the paper? last friday, me, barnesanova, and the man we call coop were sitting at a red light, right outside the downtown headquarters of the company i work for (not my office, but i was using the garage to park), and i'm pretty sure we heard three gunshots. the people on the silver line sure as hell thought so too, as they all took cover. i thought about taking off, but i would have gotten seriously t boned. as soon as the light turned green i did my best "the guy who played pedro cerrano driving during the gun scene in heat" impression and got the hell away. we didn't see anything on the news or in the paper though, so i guess my question is, how did that ..... happen?

Thursday, November 10, 2005

viva mexico!


you know how on calendars if there's a holiday for another country they put it in parenthesis, like "boxing day (canada)." i saw yesterday, "mexican independance day (mexico)." thanks for the clarification.

Monday, October 24, 2005

what, no tippy toe technique?!

i get a lot of spam at work, but this one was awesome:

Spur M rocks, our Customer Speaks:

"My girlfriend and me have been really enjoying making
our own homemade erotic films. We get off on pretending
to be like porn stars even though it will only ever be
the two of us that see them. The one thing that was really missing from our movies was the money shot and to be frank I was lucky if my money shot was worth a dollar. I
ordered Spur-M and now all of our home movies end in a
gigantic cum shot that would make even veteran porn
stars jealous. Thanks Spur-M for helping to spice up
our sex life!"
Anthony, KY

"Spur-M really works. I always dreamt of shooting like
a porn star and I can do it now, my girl cannot eat
as much as I can shoot.
Adam J., San Francisco, USA


http://www.healthygoodprod.com/sm/

Monday, October 17, 2005

more zabka!!


we need a "00's" version of billy zabka. he was in two of the greatest 80's movies of all time, karate kid and just one of the guys. he also always played a dick.

Sunday, October 16, 2005

i'll take jap anus relations for 100 alex

are you kidding me? bring back connery!


poor richard moll


just caught night court on tv land. what an under-appreciated show. laroquette was money in that show and markie post has huge cans. the fe-mullet wasn't too cool though. mac was the man and of course harry was rockin the derby and the terrible late 80s clothes. i miss the 80s "sitcom with the impossibly stupid so it's completely unbelieveable character yet it's fun anyway" genre.

i still can't get it out of my head: "michael j fox was alex p keaton"

Friday, October 14, 2005

chinese food makes me sick...

i heard that terrible song "summer girls" (or maybe "girlz") on the way to work this morning. sing along! "new kids on the block had a bunch of hits, chinese food makes me sick; i think it's fly when girls (girlz) stop by fo the summa, fo the summa; i like girls that wear abercrombie and fitch, blah blah blah"

my favorite though had to be: "billy shakespeare wrote a bunch a sawnits."

the fact that these three shem boys make a shitload of money off this song makes me realize that i should have persued my boy band that i was going to start with my frat brothers (barnesanova included, he had the dance moves), the "belle ave boyez," named after the st we lived on. we could have churned out that crap, though i'm sure it would have been more along the lines of "piss on you."

in other news, foulkie wonders why his wife thinks he's a P.O.S., and youk says, "this doesn't happen in AAA." looks like OC still has some friends in town (note the ring so it has to be this season).

Wednesday, October 12, 2005

goodbye wheat

i've been having some trouble breathing lately, so i went to the dr to get some blood taken to see if i have some food sensitivities. unlike food allergies, which hit right away and you get the typical symptoms, food sesitivities take about a day to set in, and can cause shortness or breath, stuffiness, etc. the doc said typically usually about 8 or so foods come back as being possible candidates (meaning the blood has antibodies). mine came back with 22. some of the more humorous ones were lettuce, and avacado. the fact that 22 came back might mean i have a leaky gut, but that's another story. anyway, he seems to think that wheat, egg, and brewers and bakers yeast are the most likely candidates, so i need to eliminate them for a few weeks and possibly forever to see what happens. here's the good news:

my reaction to egg whites in another test was 4/4 and egg yolk 3/4, so breakfast is going to be a challenge. the problem is that wheat's in a lot of stuff (soy sauce, hot dogs, etc). anyway, i had a "farewell to wheat dinner" last night that included 5 slices of pizza, a strawberry shortcake, and before bed, a macadamia butter and jelly sandwich. not surprisingly, i'm pretty phlegmy today. well wheat, i bid you adieu, at least for now.

Wednesday, October 05, 2005

frog and toad are really good friends?























you ever read those frog and toad books when you were a kid? i was at b & n at lunch and they had some of the books displayed. i started thinking back to reading those as a kid, and realized something. frog and toad are TOTALLY GAY. hey, i don't give a crap about that, i'm pretty socially liberal, but it's just funny that it struck me now. i think there was even one story when they go swimming and one of them loses a bathing suit or something.

Thursday, September 22, 2005

not surprised

my sister did this on her blog so I followed suit. she was surprised by her results, i'm not really surprised by mine.

You are a

Social Moderate
(56% permissive)

and an...

Economic Liberal
(21% permissive)

You are best described as a:

Democrat




Link: The Politics Test on Ok Cupid

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

i can sleep tonight, tyra has real cans

Tyra Banks Proves Breasts Are Real on TV - Yahoo! News

wow, i'm glad this was settled, i was worried. tyra, go back to the lil penny commercials. this is some hard hitting stuff.

Friday, September 09, 2005

OOO OOO OOO

How does the O Face Guy have and offical website?

Wednesday, September 07, 2005

this just in, i'm pissed off!!

any or you simpsons fans will get the reference in the subject.

anyway, just got back from two glorious week of on site support, including a stay over the weekend and a mad dash home for clothes. lot of long hours but in the end got things working.

how does anyone support this jackass president anymore? how many times does he have to f up before people realize what's going on in this country. republicans like to talk about clinton and the bj in the oval office. fine, it was a bad idea, but what worse, lying about that, or lying about wmd in iraq? let's compare:


issue
clinton
bush
economy
not sure about you, but i had more money, and a lot more co-workers
crickets chirping; "thank you for calling tech support, vimal speaking"
war
didn't see any
we all know this one
social issues
actually cared
see west, kanye
foreign policy
almost had a truce in the middle east
bomb everyone

the response to the flood has been awesome. i love how bush apologists are trying to blame fema and the dept of homeland security. well, who installed the inept heads of that agencies? when you mess up at work, who's ultimately responsible? you and your manager, right? nobody will be reprimanded either. granted, the state bears some responsibility, but people have known about the levee situation for quite a while, and have been asking the feds for money. one reason why the response took so long? because a good portion of the troops are in iraq "fighting for freedom." by the way, if hear one more friggin piece of propaganda about "freedom" or "at least i know i'm free" etc, i'm going to spit. there are a lot of free nations out there folks, some of which have universal healthcare even! this country blows right now. thanks all you people who voted for this jerk again.

in other news, the sox are looking pretty good. barnesanova and i have started a red sox blog. you can check it out here.

anyway, i have a lot of other crap on my mind, but i don't have time to type it or try to organize my thoughts right now. maybe i'll put more in later.

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

what a noble gesture!

CNN.com - Bush to return to Washington early - Aug 30, 2005

wow! bush is cutting his vacation short by two days to deal with the katrina disasters. I guess the 5 weeks wasn't enough. do you realize he's spent almost a year of his 5 in office in crawford? granted, i'm sure he's working while he's there, but please. he vacations more that the french ... who he seems to have such disdain for. he talks about america, american values, blah blah blah. well mr president, why don't you vacation like most americans, 2 weeks or less. we work more that the japanese, if you believe it

Saturday, August 27, 2005

where can i get some grass?

Boston Red Sox : Fan Forum : Championship Sod

Ok, I think the owners are trying to squeeze just a little too much revenue from the stadium. What's next, the jock strap sale? "Get the cup Carl Everett grabbed in 2000 after homering against the Yanks!"

Friday, August 26, 2005

toyotas

why are toyota commercials consistently SO BAD? first there was the friggin guy who was on for like 10 years. then there was that friggin face on the tv. i absolutely hated those commercials. then they had all those summer ones this year with that song! (summer ... you can't be blue ... just be you, and dooooo what you do). i guess it worked since i know the words. that one pissed me off. people frolicking at the beach because they just got a great deal on a tacoma.

i still hate bob's discount furniture more though. what a fraud. "c'mon down and do bob's swivel dance ... " ask my sister about his "quality" furniture

Thursday, August 25, 2005

don't tread on me?

wtf happened to 311?  this album kinda blows.  you know when they dedicate a song to the "old school fans" and they play "down" that you're in trouble.  no homebrew? lucky? my stoney baby?

Thursday, August 18, 2005

the age of diddy is upon us

CNN.com - Now he's just plain 'Diddy' - Aug 18, 2005

the 'diddy' era is upon us. i think i can now measure how long i've been out of college by iterations of sean combs' name. when i used to frequent that same bar that barnesanova mentioned in his post today, he was puff daddy. then came 'puffy', followed by 'p diddy' and now of course, just 'diddy'.

i saw in another article that one of the reasons was that some fans were chanting "diddy" at his shows and some "p diddy" and it was just too confusing. i thought the troops in iraq had it tough.

get that man a sugar cookie (for all you chappelle fans)

the bomb

with it being early august, there's been a lot of stuff on tv about dropping the bombs on japan, especially since it was the 60th anniversary. when i was younger i didn't really think much about it, i just figured that it was something we did and it ended the war, not really putting too much thought into it.

even until this year i didn't really think about it too much until i started watching these shows. i keep going back and forth between whether or not it was a good idea. on the one hand, it killed a hell of a lot of people and set off an arms race that could mean the end of the civilization any minute. on the other hand, it probably saved the lives of millions of americans and japanese, both troops and citizens, and pehaps the country. the problem was that the line between soldiers and citizens was being blurred. the japanese were training the citizens, including small children, how to fight to the last man. an invasion of japan would have been very bloody. truman saw how hard it was to take iwo jima and okinawa, and wanted to avoid that on the mainland. he knew that it was "the most terrible weapon ever created," but decided using it was worth it.

it almost didn't end the war, the militarists wanted to fight to the last man, but in a rare moment of clarity hirohito knew the future of his country was at stake, and decided to surrender. the attitude of the militarists is probably more justification that it was a good idea.

i go back and forth daily on whether or not it was the right move. truman probably couldn't have predicted just how the arms race would go, though i'm sure he knew it would happen. if nothing else he had balls, and made a decision i think nobody would ever want to make. would prolonging the war and a much bigger loss of life have been worth not dropping the bomb? would it have stopped the arms race? probably not, as the bomb existed already and it was only a matter of time until other countries tried to catch up, and if we hadn't invented it, i'm sure someone else would of.

all things that i would never want to deal with, which why i'll never be president

Wednesday, August 17, 2005

rut

after feeling pretty good for a few months, i feel like i'm falling into a rut again, calling a lot of things in my life into question, like, where am i going, what am i doing, do i like my job, why did the summer go by so fast, and why did i basically do nothing, why am i unhappy for the most part, why am i gaining weight again?

i dunno, maybe it's just a phase, but i feel antsy. maybe it's the imminent season change, maybe that i still have a long road to go in my condo before i can move in (every 'little' project keeps giving more obsticles), or that i've not and have never really been comfortable in my own skin. good stuff

Thursday, August 04, 2005

hey now ...

ok that was 2 serious posts in a row ....  back to reality

my ass absolutely stinks lately, like offendingly so.  i gotta figure that out.  i inadventantly bombed a customer out of her office i think...

success

granted i worked till 8:30 today, but it was one of those days where i felt pretty good about my work.  i'm definitely a work to live not live to work type, but occasionally i get into my work when it's interesting.  today was a day where we were able to accomplish a lot, and got some things working i never thought would work.

i've been at this job for over 6 years now, my first and only job out of college.  i've done a lot of interesting things, going to taiwan, travelling to several customer sites, going to conferences, teaching training classes, etc.  pretty standard job stuff for most people i would say.  every once in a while though i remember that my dad has never seen me in this phase of life.  unfortunately, he passed away about a month before i graduated college.  i had already accepted this job, so he knew i had it, but never to to see me working.  i think he really would have gotten a kick out of the machines i work with and the technology.  days like today are days i wish i could have called him and said "hey dad, guess what happened at work today ..."  i guess even to a lesser extent, i wish he could have seen a little bit of this phase of my life, my adult life.

old friends

i had someone i hadn't really talked to in like 3 years call me tonight.  unfortunately i couldn't talk to long, but it was cool nonetheless.  it's strange how it makes you feel though.  all of a sudden you start thinking about what your life was like when you last talked, what it's like now, and what's happened in between.  i also thought about when we first met in college, and what college life was like.  we even talked about how now we both feel old because we can't stay up past 11 anymore.  it seems that happened in an instant.  i held on to the college lifestyle long into my working years, having roommates, putting a movie in at 11 on a weeknight, going out on thursdays, but hen like a switch it stopped.  I worked till 8:30 today and I felt 90 when I left.



Saturday, July 30, 2005

deez nut .... butter


i highly recommend trying walnut butter ... it's underrated.

yello!

you ever notice that everybody has a distinct way of answering the phone at work?  for the longest time i went with "hello, this is nick?," but i got sick of it.  i wanted to change it up a little.  lately i've been talking to this guy on the phone a lot lately, and he's one of those guys wo just screams his last name when he answers the phone, it's awesome.  it totally fits his personality though, i don't think i can pull it off.  there's always the people who just say "hello," but that like saying "maybe you have the right extension, maybe you don't."  i've been trying out a simple "nick larkin."  i'm working into it, but right now it feels like an uncomforable shoe.  maybe i'll try out a "s'up?" next?  that's professional, right?

Friday, June 03, 2005

sports?!

why is poker and the friggin spelling bee on espn?  spelling bee?  are you kidding me?  the only entertaining part of that is to see who's going to faint.  what's the suspense?  someone named sumir or hatel or patel (or matel?) is going to win.  poker has run it's course.  does any channel not have a poker show yet?  nesn had a poker show!  what's next, trump poker challenge?  all the chips will have donald's face on them  .. lots of trump ice flowing.  "it's going to be YUUUGEE!"

Wednesday, June 01, 2005

deep what?

am i the only one who thinks that calling the watergate informant 'deep throat' was kind of weird?  i mean, the guy's named after a porn movie about oral sex.  how many kids at the time who heard about it asked their parents 'what's deep throat?'





Sunday, May 29, 2005

ouch

isn't it funny how you can manage to f up something you've done millions of times...such as walking up the stairs ? yesterday not only did I manage to mess that up, but when I started to fall forward , I managed to not put my arms out either. yup, I landed right on my nose, literally. for those who know me, the last thing I need is a bigger nose .... fortunately the swelling isn't too bad

i finally saw super size me ... yikes. i'm reading spurlock's new book too. he's a bit of an annoying guy, but has some good information. kind of depressing that if you want to get beef or chicken the way it was supposed to be (grassfed, no antibiotics), you have to pay a fortune, or in the case of beef, have it shipped?

Wednesday, May 25, 2005

Friday, May 13, 2005

long time...

<font size="-1"><font face="Arial">ok, so i haven't written in a while.&nbsp; i guess i haven't had much to say .. besides this: johnny, i'm sorry.&nbsp; i'm still looking forward to your movie though</font></font><br> <br>

Monday, April 04, 2005

heyyyyyy black hamma!

is it me or does this red sox team have the feeling of the indians in major league 2?

johnny damon, you're an ass. your act is running very thin. why does everybody love this guy now? because he grew a beard and long hair? now he's saying that he wouldn't mind being an actor. i know i'm treading on shaky ground here, because he did overcome a stutter, but facts are facts ... you sound like an moron when you speak. let me guess, you're going to star opposite jessie "the mind" ventura in johnny jesus - white lightning? you were actually thinking that the red sox would discuss a contract extension during spring training? for what, to pay 8 mill for someone that throws like a girl? i have news for you, if it were up to theo , you probably never would have been signed champ. then you throw the "yankees might want me" bomb. well, go ahead, but there goes your hair, beard, and meal ticket. if you've learned anything here you should know that you're only as good as your last game, no matter what you did before and how big your wife's cans are. 0-4 with an error isn't a good start.

Monday, March 28, 2005

wake up with the king!!!

so, burger king has this new "enormous omelet sandwich" that they just
added to the menu, and of course, health advocates are up in arms. um,
it's not like its required to eat one of these things. if people want
to eat it, then let them. i'm sure a lot of them know the risks and
don't give a crap. fact is, the thing probably tastes fantastic. i
love the fact that it's actually got the word "enormous" in the official
name.

i drove by a bk the other day and they had a sign out front advertising
breakfast (and maybe this monstrosity) and it said "wake up with the
king!!" is it just me, or do you get a visual of annette benning's legs
in the air yelling "i loveeeee it!" as peter gallagher yells "how does
it feel to be f'ed by the king?!?!" (american beauty ref for those of
you not in the know)

this thing does look awesome though:

mmmmmmmmmmm ... no mayo?

i give it three weeks before the mcgargantuan colon egg blow comes out:
3 eggs, 3 pieces or cheese, bacon, sausage, a mcgriddle cake on one end,
a biscuit on the other, fries, special sauce, a mcnugget (with hot
mustard sauce), tartar sauce

Thursday, March 24, 2005

finger with your chili mr poon?

apparently a woman found a finger in her cup o chili at a wendys somewhere in california i think.  after reading Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser, i'm not really surprised.  it probably came from the meat packing facility

seemed to have dodged a bullet with the snow .. woo hoo!  only about an inch on the car and nothing on the st

Wednesday, March 23, 2005

more snow?

are you friggin kidding me?  i liked the forecast last night that said nothing north of the pike.  now, it looks like 4-7"

opening day is <3 weeks away!

this blows ... there was actually bare ground around here

update

that was a massive dump

more crap

as mentioned earlier, bonds is a fraud.  this is a great article by Tony Massarotti from the Boston Herald.  i couldn't have said it better myself.

http://redsox.bostonherald.com/redSox/view.bg?articleid=74645&format=text

you'll probably only be able to read it today, but it's worth it

is anyone else bothered by the fact that it seems the government is trying to take over everything?  howard stern is now going to satellite, we're having the fcc investigating a bare shouldered woman on tv, networks won't show saving private ryan.  saving private ryan!  i know all the "patriots" don't like to think about this stuff, but THAT'S WHAT WAR IS LIKE FOLKS!  that also happened to be a very important event in our country's history, but it's gory so we can't show it.  what do you think is happening in iraq every day?  maybe if all these "joe americans" would actually consider that america isn't always right we'd be a much better society.  it'll never happen though.

btw, thanks a lot all you save fenway people.  have any of you actually seen a game there?  hey, i love the tradition and splendor of fenway, but it's got to go.  try watching a game a camden yards someday and you'll realize that fenway needs to go.  hell, wrigley is only a year newer and it's totally different.  sorry to break the news to you folks, but fenway is an uncomfortable dump.  i read in the paper that all the players want to keep fenway.  great.  they all have a guaranteed parking spot (and a lackey to park the cars) and they don't have to sit in the seats for 3 hours.  i'd like to see what they say after watching 30 games from the bleachers.

i probably have more to say, but i have to take a dump

Tuesday, March 22, 2005

blog-o-licious

well, here's my official entry into the world of blogging. not really sure what kinds of things i'm going to put in here but i'm sure something will come to mind.

is it just me or has this country sucked for about oh ... 4 years and 3.5 months? i can't believe what's been happening ... a pointless war, crappy economy, record gas prices, presidents signing bills applying to ONE PERSON, "f what the rest of the world thinks" mentality, and still your average "joe american" goes on like the lemming that he is and follows the status quo. how did this guy get re-elected? well i answered my own question a minute ago. what's happening to this country? maybe it was always like this and I was too young to realize. the war was classic. "we need to get saddam out!!" "well, i don't really support the war..." "WHAT! YOU'RE UN-AMERICAN! Go eat some FREEDOM TOAST!!" "ok, maybe it wasn't such a good idea." FF to oh let's say, september .... "we need to invade iran" "YEAH! INVADE IRAN!!!"

barry bonds is a moron. his little act today didn't fool anyone. he's shitting his pants.

schilling .. i love you on the field ... off the field you look dumber every time you open your mouth. you come off like this tough guy who hates steriods and doesn't care what people think of you, yet when you get in front of congress you rifle through a prepared statement and then just do damage control to protect your union. i can understand protecting your brethren, but at least get your arguments straight. stop talking out of both sides of your mouth.

fletch is on ... perhaps tomorrow i'll enjoy a bloody mary, a steak sandwich, and a steak sandwich, and remember, it's all ball bearings these days

speaking of fletch, i have a friend who's perfected the "never, never, never...." bit

tilefish sashimi is chewy